Registration and Membership
The California Regulations for Addiction Counselor Certification require that anyone working in a licensed AOD facility in California must register within 6 months of beginning work (this includes volunteers and interns). Once an individual has registered, they have five years to become certified (If you are not certified before the end of five  years from your initial registration, you may request a two-year extension).
You have several options: Student Registration, Intern Registration, Individual Registration; Individual CAADE Membership, and Institutional/Organizational Membership. CAADE suggests that you register as soon as you begin your practicum or fieldwork class (Counselor regulations require everyone to register within 6 months of beginning to volunteer, intern, or work in any licensed facility). Once registered you will receive your copy of the quarterly CAADE Chronicles as well as discounted rates on membership and annual CAADE conference tickets. Once you pass the CATC exam you will receive an internship number as a CATC-i and will be considered a registered Intern. You must become certified within 5 years of registering in the state.
Student Registration is open to individuals enrolled in, or who have completed, a CAADE accredited/approved Alcohol/Drug Studies Program and have NOT yet passed the CATC exam. You may only be registered for five (5) years before becoming fully certified. If you are not certified before the end of five (5) years from your initial registration, you may request a two-year extension.
*For initial Student Registration, please include a copy of unofficial transcripts that clearly show enrollment in a CAADE accredited ADS program.*
Beginning April 1, 2015, those attending select addiction studies programs may register with CAADE as students. These programs include The Breining Institute, UCLA Extension, CSU Dominguez Hills, ICDC College, Intercoast College, Loyola Marymount University, Crescent College, Centaur College and The Training Institute for Addictions Counselors. They will however be required to complete the 9 hour Laws & Ethics Orientation in order to ensure that all of CAADE's registrants are educated to the state of California's regulations and law in regards to addiction specific counseling. This requirement will remain in effect until each program has been individually and formally approved as a CAADE Career Track Program.
Intern (CATC-i) Registration
The CATC-i is an individual who has passed the CATC Exam and is completing clinical hours towards their initial certification.
Individual Registration is open to those individuals who:
1. did not complete their ADS education at a CAADE accredited/approved school and wish to certify with CAADE through the equivalency process or;
2. who are not attending or have not attended a CAADE approved/accredited school and would like to legally complete clinical hours towards their initial CATC certification; or
3. who are no longer students and wish to be registered in order to legally complete their clinical hours for certification.
*REMEMBER: You may only be registered for five (5) years before becoming certified. If you are not certified before the end of five (5) years from your initial registration, you may request a two-year extension.
Beginning March 1, 2014, prior to registering with CAADE, all individuals not enrolled in a CAADE accredited Addiction Studies Program shall complete a nine (9) hours orientation course consisting of:
- Three (3) hours of ethics
- Three (3) hours of professional boundaries
- Three (3) hours of confidentiality
CAADE pre-registrants who are not enrolled in a CAADE accredited program must take the orientation course with an approved provider. The nine hours of education specified in the orientation course do not count toward fulfillment of the CAADE accredited program.
Please allow a minimum of 2 weeks for processing. Due to the volume of applications we receive, we are not able to expedite processing.
CAADE Membership Forms
Carefully review these forms prior to registering. You do not need to send in copies of these documents with your registration application, as you are agreeing to abide by the following documents by signing the registration/membership application.
You may pay here with PayPal or a credit card. Save & print your receipt; include a copy with your application as proof of payment. You must complete and submit a Registration form in order to register or re-register. PayPal payment alone will not accomplish this. Other forms of payment include personal check, certified check, or money order. Checks returned for nonsufficient funds will be charged a $25 fee in addition to the regular fee and must be replaced with cash or Paypal/credit card payment.